- Is medicinal marijuana legal?
Pennsylvania has approved medicinal canninbus for treatment of 21 conditions under the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Act under Act 16 of 2016.
- What are the 21 conditions under the Act?
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Cancer, including remission therapy
- Crohn’s disease
- Damage to the nervous tissue of the central nervous system (brain, spinal cord) with objective neurological indication of intractable spasticity and other associated neuropathies
- Dyskinetic and spastic movement disorders
- Huntington’s disease
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Intractable seizures
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Neurodegenerative diseases
- Opiod use disorder for which conventional therapeutic interventions are contradindicated or ineffective, or for which adjunctive therapy is indicated in combination with primary therapeutic interventions
- Parkinson’s disease
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Severe chronic or intractable pain of neuropathic origin or severe chronic or intractable pain
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness
- Who can obtain a medical marijuana card?
Under Act 16, patients who are residents of the commonwealth and have a medical condition as certified by a physician will be able to obtain medicinal marijuana at dispensaries with a validly-issued permit from the department of health located in the commonwealth. A “caregiver” designated by a patient with a qualifying condition will be able to obtain medicinal marijuana from a dispensary with a validly-issued permit from the department of health located in the commonwealth.
- How do I sign up or register for the program?
You may register for the program through the Patient and Caregiver registry.
- Who qualifies as a caregiver?
Act 16 defines a “caregiver” as an individual 21 years of age or older, unless otherwise authorized by the department, who is:
- Designated by a patient
- A parent, legal guardian or spouse of a patient that is under the age of 18; and/or
- Designated to be a caregiver by a parent, legal guardian or spouse of an individual approved by the department if no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available.
Caregivers must register with the department and complete a criminal history background check in order to receive a medical marijuana ID card.
- What is a patient certification?
A practitioner approved by the Department of Health can issue a patient certification. The certification confirms that you have one of the 21 serious medical conditions defined in Act 16 and the at medical marijuana may benefit you. You cannot participate in the program without a certification.
- When will I get my medical marijuana ID card?
The department typically issues the ID cards within a 3-4 week timeframe based on submission volumes.
- How much is the medical marijuana ID card?
The fee for the card is $50.
- Where can I get medical marijuana?
Once you have received your medical marijuana ID card, you can purchase medical marijuana at a local dispensary in Pennsylvania that has been issued a permit by the Department of Health.
- What are the steps of the process?
- Register as above
- Have a consultation with certified practitioner
- After you receive your certification number pay $50 for the on the DOH website (https://padohmmp.customhelp.com/app/login) for the medical marijuana ID card.
- Purchase your products from a local dispensary in Pennsylvania that has been issued a permit by the Department of Health.
- Who can I contact for questions?
The Leaf MD staff and physicians are available to guide you through the process and answer any questions.